Key Stage 4 Results


There have been four consecutive years of changes to examinations and performance tables which have come into effect, which mean that the performance tables cannot be compared like for like with those of previous years.

In the summer of 2016, the tables were changed drastically, and new headline measures were introduced:

  • Progress 8 (a value-added measure)
  • Attainment 8 (an average points score measure)

In 2017, students sat the first of the reformed GCSEs in Maths, English Language and English Literature which are graded 9-1 rather than A*-G. These courses are 100% final exam, with no controlled assessment. Approximately half the remaining GCSEs reformed to 9-1 in 2018, whilst other GCSEs remain A*-G, with the remainder reforming for 2019.


Revised headline measures for 2018 include:

  • Grade 5-9 in both English and Maths (Good pass)
  • Progress 8
  • Attainment 8
  • Ebacc Average Points Score
  • Grade 4-9 in both English and Maths (Standard pass) will also be published but is not a headline measure.
Old Grade Approx. Equivalent  
A* + 9  
A* 8  
A 7  
A- 6  
B- 5 Good Pass
C- 4 Standard Pass
D 3  
E- 2  
G 1  

Students achieving below a grade 4 will be required to continue to study English and/or Maths post- 16 until a “standard pass” is achieved.

2018 Results

Key Stage 2 Average Point Score on Entry

  WSSC National
2016 27.5 27.5
2017 28.1 28.5
2018 28.4 28.8

The Wickersley Key Stage 2 Average Point Score for the 2018 Year 11 cohort was below the national average. It equates approximately to an average of a level 4c in English and Maths.



National 2017 2017 Results 2018 Results
Progress 8 -0.03 +0.57 +0.6
Attainment 8 44.2 50.1 53.2
4+ in Ma & Eng 64 74 79
5+ in Ma & Eng 40 50 62
A/A* or 9-7 20 23.7 27.8
5 A*-G or 9-1 93 99.4 99.1
English Baccalaureate 19.5 19 20

* Revised Progress 8 and Attainment 8 measures will be published once confirmed by the Department for Education.

Progress 8 and Attainment 8 count only the following subjects:

  • English (double weighted if both language and literature are taken)
  • Maths (double weighted)
  • Best 3 Ebacc subjects (Modern Foreign Language, History, Geography, Science, Computing)
  • Best 3 other approved qualifications from the list published by the Department of Education


Progress 8 is a value-added measure. Wickersley’s Progress 8 score of +0.6 means that on average, students have achieved two-thirds of a grade above expectations in every subject (calculated by the government based on KS2 attainment).

Attainment 8
 is an attainment measure. 40 = average grade of a grade C, 55 = B. Wickersley’s score of 53.2 is equivalent to a grade B-.

**The English Baccalaureate (Ebacc) 
is a combination of subjects which the government believes to be the foundation of a good academic education. At Wickersley, these subjects are offered but not all are compulsory. The Ebacc must include: English, maths, two sciences, history or geography and a Modern Foreign Language). 20% of the cohort were entered for the English Baccalaureate.