Applied IT


BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate

Exam Board


Entry Requirements


Why study this course?

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is intended as an Applied General qualification covering 360 GLH and equivalent in size to one A Level. It is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT. Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.

What does this qualification cover?

Students will take five units, made up of three mandatory and two optional units. All students will study the following two mandatory units; Fundamentals of IT and Global information. These units provide students with an insight into the IT sector, as they investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale, as well as the important legal and security considerations. In addition, students are required to complete three further units, one of which must be the designated mandatory unit.

What will I study?

Year 1

The objective of this qualification is to give learners the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in IT systems, systems management and social media in business. This will enable learners to progress to further study in the IT sector or other sectors.

In the first year, learners will study two to three mandatory units:

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

Year 2

In the second year, learners will complete the final mandatory unit:

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business,

including the optional unit:

Unit 5: Data Modelling.

How will I be assessed?

Unit 1 – Written examination set and marked by Pearson.

90 marks.

Two hours.

Unit 2 – A task set and marked by Pearson and completed under supervised conditions. The supervised assessment period is ten hours arranged over a number of sessions in a 1 week assessment period timetabled by Pearson.

Completed using a computer and submitted electronically.

66 marks.

Units 3 and 5 – Internally assessed

Final Grades are based on D* D M P

Where can it lead?

This qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses. As the content is equivalent in size to one A Level, higher education representatives have confirmed that it is appropriate to allow learners to choose their optional units from a wide range so that they can explore their own choice of areas for further study.


Mr D Finch

Course Leader

Mr N Lilleker

Mr D Brown

Course Materials