menu
Local Information & Events

On this page, you can find statutory information about the careers programme offered within Wickersley school as well as general information about careers advice and opportunities available to you within school. There is also access to a regularly updated timetable of local establishment open days and events.

Support for all areas of careers is based in the Careers Hub, in E Block Music Corridor and is staffed by Mrs R Mullins, the School Careers Leader. Through the Careers Hub, we can offer you a range of opportunities to plan and research your future study/employment options.

We also provide support for students through the Higher Education Progression Partnership South Yorkshire (HeppSY+) project who work in partnership with Sheffield Hallam University, the University of Sheffield, and South Yorkshire colleges and schools to increase the number of young people progressing to higher education. You can keep up to date with Heppsy+ progress via our Heppsy+ page.

We can also offer:

  • One to One Careers Interviews
  • Drop-in Session Appointments
  • Events, Workshops, Talks and Off-site Visit Information
  • CV Support
  • Apprenticeship and Job Search Support
  • Virtual Careers Advice – Information and advice by e-mail
  • A range of printed and online careers resources

If you have any questions or would like any information about planning your career and future options, please email careers@wickersley.net.

Current Opportunities

Life Skills Rotherham

Drop-in Sessions

Do you need advice on what career path to take next? Or need help applying for Sixth Form, University or an Apprenticeship?

Come and visit us for a drop-in session, most Thursdays 3.30 – 4.30 PM in the Careers Hub, Music Corridor, E Block.

Documents

Open Days

To have a better understanding of what courses and subjects further education has to offer, attending an open day can provide you with all the information you need.

Rotherham College

Interactive Open Event

  • Saturday 18th January 2020 – Rotherham College, Town Centre Campus – 10.00am – 12.00pm
  • Saturday 1st February 2020 – Rotherham College, Dinnington Campus – 10.00am – 12.00pm
  • Wednesday 4th March 2020 – Rotherham College, Town Centre Campus – 3.30pm – 6.30pm

AMRC

Open Day

  • Tuesday 3rd December 2019 – 4:30 – 6:00PM
  • Tuesday 21st January 2020 – 4:30 – 6:00PM
  • Thursday 27th February 2020 – 4:30 – 6:00PM
  • Tuesday 24th March 2020 – 4:30 – 6:00PM
  • Thursday 30th April 2020 – 4:30 – 6:00PM
  • Tuesday 30th June 2020 – 4:30 – 6:00PM

Dearne Valley College

Interactive Open Event

  • Saturday 25th January 2020 – Dearne Valley College, Manvers Campus – 10.00am – 12.00pm

Wickersley Sixth Form

Information Evening

  • No Dates

Sheffield College

Open Day

  • Thursday 21st November 2019
  • Tuesday 28th January 2020
  • Monday 9th March 2020

Taster Day

  • There are currently no scheduled taster days.

Barnsley College

Open Events

  • Saturday 23rd November 2019 – Barnsley College – 11.00am – 2.00pm
  • Thursday 30th January 2020 – Barnsley College – 4.00pm – 7.00pm
  • Wednesday 4th March 2020 – Apprenticeship Open Evening – Old Mill Lane Campus – 4:00PM – 7.00PM

HE Open Day

  • Saturday 27th June 2020 – Church Street Campus – 11.00am – 2.00pm
  • Monday 17th August 2020 – Church Strret Campus – 2.00pm – 4.00pm
  • Monday 17th August 2020 – Church Strret Campus – 6.00pm – 8.00pm

Other Locations

Thomas Rotherham College 

  • Monday 3rd February 2020 – 3:30PM – 7:00PM

UTC Sheffield 

  • Currently no scheduled dates.

Doncaster College and University Centre 

  • Apprenticeship Open Evening – Tuesday 4th February 2020 – The Hub, Doncaster – 5.00PM – 7.00PM
  • College and University Open Event – Wednesday 22nd January 2020 – The Hub, Doncaster – 4:00PM – 7:00PM

Askham Bryan College

Information Evening

  • Tuesday 3rd March 2020 – 5:00-6:30PM
  • Tuesday 12th May 2020 – 5:00-6:30PM

Higher Education Open Day

  • Saturday 23rd November 2019 – 10:30AM-1:30PM
  • Saturday 28th March 2020 – 10:30AM-1:30PM
  • Wednesday 10th June 2020 – 10:30AM-1:30PM

Saturday Open Morning

  • Saturday 1st February 2020 – 10:30AM-1:30PM
  • Saturday 21st March 2020 – 10:30AM-1:30PM

New College Doncaster 

  • Thursday 13th February 2020 – Hurst Lane, Auckley – 4.30pm – 7.00pm

Portland College, Mansfield

  • No scheduled dates